Thursday, July 25, 2024 | Baltimore, MD
Baltimore, MD
Mostly Cloudy

House back to full membership after new delegates are sworn in

July 7, 2023
Tower, Dome and cupola sections of the historic Goldstein building that houses Comptroller of Maryland and State Treasury. The old building in Annapolis has the logo of Maryland General Assembly.

The Maryland House of Delegates is back to full membership following the swearing in of the chamber’s two newest members. Dels. Ryan Spiegel (D-Montgomery) and Malcolm P. Ruff (D-Baltimore City) were sworn in Thursday in separate ceremonies by House Speaker Adrienne A. Jones (D-Baltimore County). Both are assigned to the House Appropriations Committee. Jones, in opening remarks, said hopefully that Ruff’s ceremony is “the last delegate that I have to do prior to session” in 2024.

Article Source: Maryland Matters

The Morning Rundown

We’re staying up to the minute on the issues shaping the future. Join us on the newsletter of choice for Maryland politicos and business leaders. It’s always free to join and never a hassle to leave. See you on the inside.