Saturday, June 15, 2024 | Baltimore, MD
Baltimore, MD
Partly Cloudy

With new term beginning, Ferguson and Jones enter next phase of their leadership

January 11, 2023

In many state capitals, four years as a presiding officer of a legislative chamber is a pretty robust tenure. In the Maryland State House, it’s a nanosecond. House Speaker Adrienne Jones (D-Baltimore County) and Senate President Bill Ferguson (D-Baltimore City) are entering their fourth sessions as the leaders in their respective chambers. Both replaced legendary and record-setting presiding officers: The late House Speaker Michael Busch (D) had the job for 17 years, and the late Senate President Mike Miller (D) held the gavel for 33 years. But even if Jones’ and Ferguson’s tenures seem puny in comparison, the 2023 General Assembly session marks a significant milestone for each: This is the first year of the legislative term, meaning it’s the first legislative term when the presiding officers will be fully in control of the legislature, rather than filling the remainder of their predecessors’ terms.

Article Source: Maryland Matters

The Morning Rundown

We’re staying up to the minute on the issues shaping the future. Join us on the newsletter of choice for Maryland politicos and business leaders. It’s always free to join and never a hassle to leave. See you on the inside.